Meet the team

Taya Forde ~ Taya is a Research Fellow contributing to the development of surveillance and laboratory capacity in Tanzania to understand the diversity and transmission dynamics of Bacillus anthracis, the causative agent of anthrax, at the livestock-human-wildlife interface. Taya has been the leading light for the Naturally Speaking from 2018 onwards.

Eleni Christoforou ~ Eleni is a PhD student investigating the impact anthropocentric pollution on the ecosystem services provided by marine bivalves. She graduated from the University of California, Santa Cruz, USA with a BSc in Marine Biology and BA in Art. She has a passion for both subjects and examples of her art can be seen on the Naturally Speaking podcasts banners and on her personal website

Lucy Gilbert ~ Lucy has a chequered past in avian behavioural ecology, evolutionary genetics, and seabird & sea mammal ecology. She now focusses on multi-trophic and multi-ecosystem interactions, especially the highly ecologically complex tick and tick-borne disease systems, addressing questions about host community drivers of disease risk, the impacts of climate change, woodland expansion and wildlife management.

Joey Humble ~ Joey is a research technician specialised in fish biology. Throughout his career, Joey has worked on projects focusing on ecotoxicology, pesticide resistance in parasites and evolutionary developmental biology. Joey is the operator of SalmoSim, a machine which simulates the gastrointestinal tract of farmed salmon to test aquaculture feed ingredients.

Mohammad Saiful Islam Sajib ~ Sajib is a Ph.D. student, and his research focuses on infectious diseases. He aims to improve public health by generating evidence for future policy decisions and worked as a microbiologist at Child Health Research Foundation (CHRF), Bangladesh. Currently, he is developing a robust clinical metagenomics pipeline to diagnose sepsis, improve patient outcomes, and reduce antimicrobial resistance.

Many thanks to past contributors to Naturally Speaking ~

Original founders: Zara Gladman, Shaun Killen, James Buckley, James Grecian and Sjúrður Hammer, with thanks to the Institute of Biodiversity and Animal health for providing the initial funding.

Previous team members: Lydia Bach, Laurie Baker, James Burgon, Jim Caryl, Ana Costa, Karen Hotopp, Ellen Hughes, Jacqueline Jacot, Miks Kundegorski, Stephen Larcombe, Elle Lindsay, Kirsty McWhinney, Keila Meginnis, Lizzy Mittel, Pat Monaghan, Katherine Needham, Mar Pineda, Emma Plant, Martina Quaggiotto, Ruben Riosa, Alexa Roditi, and Kit Russell.